top of page

Protecting Biodiversity

Still continuing the work, but now outside of the Herbarium, I have been making a series of large totemic shields in clay. The patterns correspond to the ridges found in the Gardenia fruits (I have found fruits with 0,4,5,6,7,8,11 or 16 ridges, so far). Below are Shields 8, 9, 11 and 16, before going into the kiln. There will be nine shields in total, and corresponding bowls. I am imagining a Gardenia cult, and their totemic symbols. Once all the object are made it will probably be developed into some form of a performance.

I also want to have some calyx spears with the shields, a wonderful opportunity to book into a metal work and welding course to be able to make these in metal! Below is my mock-up, more images will be added once the metal work start.


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page